YPS Report to Council June 18, 2015

AMA-YPS Annual Meeting

MSSNY was well represented at the recent AMA YPS annual assembly in Chicago. Mark Milstein, MD, became chair and Hilary Fairbrother, MD, served as delegate to the AMA. Our four MSSNY delegates were Nicholas Gavin, MD; Elizabeth Haines, DO; Sarah Selby, DO; and Carlos Zapata, MD. Other New Yorkers participating were Joshua Cohen, MD, representing AAN; Joshua Moskovitz, MD, representing ACEP; and Heather Smith, MD, representing ACOG.

Young Leadership

MSSNYs Medical Educational and Scientific Foundation, under the direction of Tom Donoghue and with a grant from the Physicians Foundation, continues to develop CME programs to train younger physicians in basic leadership and advocacy skills. The Physician Leadership Project has been holding presentations around the state, including a recent two day retreat focused on young physicians.

Respectfully submitted,

L. Carlos Zapata, MD YPS Councilor