Council – September 23, 2021

Thursday, September 23, 2021, at 9:00 a.m.


A. Call to Order and Roll Call

B. APPROVAL of the June 3, 2021, Council Minutes 

C. New Business 

1. President’s Report
a) MSSNY AD HOC Scope of Practice Committee,
                   To be presented by Mr. Morris Auster & Rose Berkun, MD 

Resolution 112-2020 Allow Anesthesiology Assistants to be Licensed in NYS
                (For Council Approval)

b. Committee on Emergency Preparedness and Disaster and Terrorism Response
Committee on Infectious Diseases
   Proposed MSSNY COVID-19 Resolution
To be presented by Joshua Cohen, MD, Janine Fogarty, MD & William Valenti, MD
  (For Council Approval)
  1. Board of Trustees Report Dr. Arthur Fougner will present the report
        (For Council Approval)
  1. Secretary’s ReportDr. Frank Dowling will present the report
        (For Council Approval)
  1. MLMIC UpdateDr. John Lombardo will present a verbal report 
  1. AMA Delegation ReportDr. Charles Rothberg will present a verbal report
    (No written report submitted)
  1. MSSNYPAC ReportDr. Thomas Lee will present the report
  1. County Federation ReportDr. Aaron Kumar will present the report

D. Reports of Officers

  1. Office of the President – Joseph R. Sellers, MD
  2. Office of the President-Elect – Parag H. Mehta, MD
  3. Office of the Vice-President – Paul A. Pipia, MD
  4. Office of the Immediate Past President – Bonnie L. Litvack, MD
  5. Office of the Treasurer Mark J. Adams, MD,
    Financial Statement for the period 1/1/2021 – 8/31/21
    (For Council Approval)   
  6. Office of the Speaker – William R. Latreille, Jr., MD

E. Reports of Councilors (Informational)

  1. Kings & Richmond Report – Adolph B. Meyer, MD
  2. Manhattan & Bronx Report – David M. Jakubowicz, MD
  3. Nassau County Report – David Podwall, MD
  4. Queens County Report – Saulius J. Skeivys, MD
  5. Suffolk County Report – Daniel E. Choi, MD
  6. Third District Branch Report – Brian P. Murray, MD
  7. Fourth District Branch Report – Gregory L. Pinto, MD
  8. Fifth District Branch Report – Barry Rabin, MD
    (No written report submitted)
  9. Sixth District Branch Report – Celeste A. Johns, MD
  10. Seventh District Branch Report – Janine L. Fogarty, MD
  11. Eighth District Branch Report – Mark R. Jajkowski. MD
  12. Ninth District Branch Report – Thomas T. Lee, MD
  13. Medical Student Section Report – Leanna Knight
  14. Organized Medical Staff Section Report – Stephen F. Coccaro, MD
    (No written report submitted)
  15. Resident & Fellow Section Report – Luis Seija, MD
    (No written report submitted)
  16. Young Physician Section Report – Jocelyn Young, DO

F. Commissioners (Informational Items)
           1. Commissioner of Communications, Maria A. Basile, MD, MBA
               Report from the Division of Communications

  1. Commissioner of Continuing Medical Education, Mark J. Adams, MD
        Report from the Division of CME
  1. Commissioner of Governmental Relations, Gregory L. Pinto, MD
        Report from the Division of Governmental Affairs
  1. Commissioner of Membership, David M. Jakubowicz, MD
        (No written report submitted)
  1. Commissioner of Science & Public Health, Joshua M. Cohen, MD
        Bioethics & Committee on Health Equity Joint Minutes, June 4, 2021
  1. Commissioner of Physician Payment and Practice, Brian P. Murray, MD
        (No written report submitted)

G. Report of the Executive Vice President, Troy J. Oechsner

  1. Membership Dues Revenue Schedule
  2. Group Institutional Dues Report
  3. MSSNY Goals & Measures Update

H. Report of the General Counsel, Garfunkel Wild, Barry Cepelewicz, MD, Esq
    (No written report submitted)

I.   Report of the Alliance, Helena Mirza, Alliance President
     Alliance Report

J.  Other Information/Announcements

  1. MSSNY Comments on No Surprises Act regulation
  2. MSSNY Comments on Workers Compensation telehealth regulations
  3. MSSNY letter to Gov Hochul urging veto of liability expansion bills
  4. MSSNY letter to Gov Hochul urging signing of bill to prevent mid-year formulary changes

K. Adjournment