Council January 30, 2020

MSSNY Council Meeting
Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 9:00 a.m.
Courtyard Marriott, Westbury Long Island
1800 Privado Road
Westbury, NY  11590

A.  Call to Order and Roll Call

B. Council Minutes of November 7, 2019

C.  New Business (All Informational/Action Items)

1 President’s Report:

a. Appointment of Mark Jajkowski, MD, New Eighth District Councilor to complete Dr. Bartels term which ends in 2021. (For Council Approval)

b. Honoring Dr. Steven Schwalbe with a Certificate of Appreciation for his many years of dedicated service as Chair of MSSNY’s Interspecialty Committee

c. Honoring Dr. Marina Caskey with the Albion Bernstein Award

Dr. Caskey is an Associate Professor of Clinical Investigation at The Rockefeller University. Her research focuses on the development and testing of a promising new strategy that uses broadly neutralizing antibodies to prevent or treat HIV infection. Dr. Caskey graduated from medical school at the Federal University of Sergipe, Brazil, in 1998. She then completed an internal medicine residency at Saint Luke’s Roosevelt Hospital, in New York, followed by fellowship training in infectious diseases at New York Presbyterian-Weill Cornell Medical Center.

Dr. Caskey has led a series of early-phase clinical studies to evaluate the safety and efficacy of broadly neutralizing anti-HIV antibodies. These antibodies were isolated and characterized from patient blood cells by sophisticated cloning methods developed in the laboratory of Dr. Michel Nussenzweig.  The studies led by Dr. Caskey have revitalized this area of HIV research, which had been abandoned after first-generation antibodies failed to show significant effects in humans.  Broadly neutralizing antibodies are now considered one of the most promising strategies to achieve HIV remission, as well as potential alternatives to antiretrovirals for both therapy and prevention. Her seminal studies have shaped this new area of research and several groups in the US and abroad are now studying the antiviral and immune modifying effects of these molecules in combination with other strategies.

Dr. Caskey is also an attending physician in infectious diseases at New York Presbyterian-Weill Cornell Medical Center. She was recently elected for membership in the American Society of Clinical Investigation.

2. Board of Trustees Report – Dr. Sam Unterricht will present the report (handout)

3. Secretary’s Report – Dr. Frank Dowling will present the report

4. MLMIC Update – Dr. John Lombardo will present the report (verbal)

5. AMA Delegation Report – Dr. John Kennedy will present the report

6. MSSNYPAC Report – Dr. Thomas Lee will present the report (handout)

7. County Federation Report – Dr. Aaron Kumar will present the report

D.  Reports of Officers  

  1. Office of the President  – Arthur C. Fougner, MD
  2. Office of the President Elect – Bonnie L. Litvack, MD
  3. Office of the Vice President – Joseph R. Sellers, MD
  4. Office of the Treasurer – Mark J. Adams, MD
    Financial Statement for the period 1/1/19 to 1/3019
    (For Council Approval)
  5. Office of the Speaker – William R. Latreille, Jr., MD

E.  Presentation

Mr. Tom D’Angelo, President-Elect of the Pharmacists Society of the State of New York
Verbal Discussion – “Pharmacy Benefit Managers and How They Affect the Capability to Fill Prescriptions”

F.  Reports of Councilors (Informational Items)

  1. Kings & Richmond Report – Adolph B. Meyer, MD
  2. Manhattan & Bronx Report – Joshua M. Cohen, MD
  3. Nassau County Report – Paul A. Pipia, MD
  4. Queens County Report – Saulius J. Skeivys, MD
  5. Suffolk County Report – Linda S. Efferen, MD
  6. Third District Branch Report – Brian P. Murray, MD
  7. Fourth District Branch Report – Gregory Pinto, MD
  8. Fifth District Branch Report –Howard H. Huang, MD
  9. Sixth District Branch Report – Robert A. Hesson, MD
  10. Seventh District Branch Report – Janine L. Fogarty, MD
  11. Eighth District Branch Report – Mark Jajkowski, MD
  12. Ninth District Branch Report – Thomas T. Lee, MD
  13. Medical Student Section Report – Peter Joo
         (no written report submitted)
  14. Organized Medical Staff Section – Stephen F. Coccaro, MD
         (no written report submitted)
  15. Resident & Fellow Section Report – Catherine E. Steger, MD
         (no written report submitted)
  16. Young Physician Section Report – L. Carlos Zapata, MD

G.  Commissioners (Informational Items)

  1. Commissioner of Continuing Medical Education, Mark J. Adams, MD
    a) Report from the Office of CME
  1. Commissioner of Communications, Maria A. Basile, MD, MBA
    a) Report from the Division of Communications
  1. Commissioner of Governmental Relations, Gregory Pinto, MD
    a)Scope of Practice Minutes, November 20, 2019
    b)Report from the Division of Governmental Affairs
  1. Commissioner of Membership, Parag H. Mehta, MD
    a) Membership Presentation
  1. Commissioner of Science & Public Health, Joshua M. Cohen, MD
        (no written report submitted)
  1. Commissioner of Socio Medical Economics, Howard H. Huang, MD
       a) Interspecialty Minutes, October 24, 2019

H.  Report of the Executive Vice President, Philip Schuh, CPA, MS
1. Membership Dues Revenue Schedule
2. Group Institutional Dues Comparison Report

I.  Report of the General Counsel, Garfunkel Wild, P.C. Andrew Zwerling, Esq.
    (no written report submitted)

J. Report of the Alliance, Barbara Ellman, AMSSNY Co-President
Alliance Report

K. Other Information/Announcements
1. Scope of Practice Letters

L.  Adjournment